Dare to be a Damn Daniel

If you haven’t been living under a rock lately, chances are you’ve seen the video of a boy named Daniel being followed by his friend who seems to like his choice in shoes. A pair of white Vans, specifically. In an effort to keep the gospel relevant, I headed over to the book of, you guessed it, Daniel for some insight. As crazy as it may sound, I was able to find some common ground between Biblical Daniel and Video Daniel who’s “back at it again with the white vans!”

Every time I think about the original video, or watch him on the Ellen Show, first I laugh for about two minutes, then I start to feel bad for the guy. No matter where he goes for the rest of his life, no matter what he does, whether he’s being greeted, encouraged, or scolded, he’ll hear “Daaaamn Daniel!”. He will never be able to wear the lifetime of Vans he was given by Ellen, unless he wants to hear the coined phrase in an infinite loop. This video was his big break that one could say will define him for the rest of his life. Or maybe the rest of his semester at school. Or maybe until the next video goes viral (aka my life dream, aka find me on snapchat, aka @itskellyrenee. Shameless plugs, man.)

But how can this relate to the Bible at all?  Ho ho ho, let me tell you *eyebrow raise* *double finger pistols* *tear rolls down my face because I hate me too*

Video Daniel became widely known for fast-paced walking while wearing stylish shoes. Biblical Daniel is also widely-known, but for his character; he was a vessel filled with humility, constant prayer, trust in God, and commitment. Those are some solid things to be known for #lifegoals. What’s one thing that others would say emulates your entire being? What’s your “Damn insert name here. Back at it again with insert common identifying occurrence here“?

6358234055087314021635881347_embarassed-gif

I’m going to stop here and admit that mine would probably have to do with my want for acceptance. I often wonder what people would say about me at my funeral, who would attend, and what songs would be chosen. (Hint: Mambo #5 on repeat, please. You think I’m kidding…) In my opinion , it’s important that your beliefs carry over into your everyday actions – your “Damn Daniel”. When we read about Biblical Daniel, we can come up with his phrase pretty easily. His would be: Damn Daniel. Back at it again with the relentless faith and trust in God!

… aka I’m slacking. As true and faithful Christians, we should strive to have a similar defining phrase. Right now, mine’s looking like: Damn Kelly, back at it again with the fear of sharing your faith/inconsistent prayer…and overuse of the word literally. BUT! I’m aiming for a more Daniel-y phrase:

  • Damn Kelly, back at it again with the relatable bridge from reality to Biblical truths.
  • Damn Kelly, back at it again with a bold faith and never-ending encouragement to others.
  • Damn Kelly, back at it again with the compassion and patience the world needs.
  • Damn Kelly, back at it again with the good hair or funny one-liners.

Hehe only kidding about the last one, but hey, a girl can dream! What’s your phrase? Is it what you want it to be? If not, what’s your #phrasegoals? Let me know – I’m begging to hear what you have to say!

xoxo

 

 

 

One thought on “Dare to be a Damn Daniel

Leave a Reply

